Facebook icon YouTube icon Pinterest icon RSS icon Flickr icon

Raptors of Arizona

All materials provided by AZ Game and Fish Department

Great Horned Owls are among the largest of the owls. They range widely throughout North America.

Raptors are birds of prey that possess a hooked beak, talons and powerful feet. Arizona is home to a variety of raptors—owls, hawks, eagles and falcons, among them. Cave paintings, feathers incorporated into ceremonial costumes, gold and turquoise figures of owls, hawks, and eagles are evidence that birds of prey have been a feature of art, legends, ceremonies, and stories since prehistoric times.

Perhaps that is why the national symbol of the United States is the Bald Eagle and the symbol of Mexico is the Crested Caracara. We may think of raptors as birds of wild places, but they also inhabit our cities. It is not unusual to see a Harris’s Hawk perched on a tall tree in a backyard, or hear a Great Horned Owl’s deep hoo-hoo-hoo call in the evening—right in the middle of a big city such as Tucson.

Common Raptors of Arizona

  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Harris’s Hawk
  • Cooper’s Hawk
  • Golden Eagle
  • Northern Harrier
  • American Kestrel
  • Great Horned Owl

Videos from the Arizona Game and Fish Department

Eagle Rescue Video